Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Compiled April, 2000 by Joe Zabel ---- Publishers Guide
Top Secret Comics ---- Comic Shop Locator: (888)266-4226

Indypreviews

For May, 2000

Waiting is over for CASTLE WAITING!

Cover of Castle Waiting Collection THE LUCKY ROAD copyright 2000 by Linda Medley Linda Medley's Eisner-winning series CASTLE WAITING has delighted fans with its affectionate portrayal of the odd inhabitants of an old castle, in a rich, storybook fantasy positioned midway between Mother Goose and J. R. Tolkein.

What makes this series special is Linda Medley's solid, uncluttered style, her subtle storytelling skills, and her emphasis on character development. With in-depth experience as a children's book illustrator, Medley brings a fresh sensibility to the comics medium.

After Medley's own imprint Olio suspended publication, she recently moved the series to Jeff Smith's company, Cartoon Books (Box 16973, Columbus, OH 43216 www.boneville.com). We wish her the best of luck in this promising new arrangement, and recommend this series highly!


CONNECT SALES COMICS
  Smile Comics

SPACE DOG
Daniel Sargent's elaborate Sf saga about a
dog-like space traveler!

Smile Comics
480 Crestwood Dr.
Athens, GA 30605

______________________________________________
  TFR Industries

TEN FOOT RULE #5
An energetic digestzine anthology by Shawn 
Granton!  See Amazing Montage review from April!

MODERN INDUSTRY
An 11-creator anthology edited by Granton!  
Promising new talents galore!

TFR Industries
170 Beaver St., 
Ansonia, CT 06401

______________________________________________
  Horizontal Comics

RAT Pt. 1 & 2
Rich Watson's allegory about a rat who falls
in love with a human girl!

Horizontal Comics
172-32 133 AVe #11A,
Jamaica, NY 11434

______________________________________________
  M. R. Neno Productions

QUACKY PIG AND FRIENDS
Michael Neno gleefully warps the last remaining
institution of children's literature in the
world today-- the children's coloring book!

M. R. Neno Productions
P. O. Box 151303
Columbus, OH 43215

______________________________________________
  Kevin Huizenga

SUPERMONSTER 12
What's monstrous in this thick minicomic is 
artist Kevin Huizenga's innovative, unpredict-
able talent!

Kevin Huizenga
P. O. Box 58 
Griffith, IN 46319
www.calvin.edu/~lhuize99

______________________________________________
  Ben T. Steckler

GET BENT #6/UNSHAVEN CHI #2
Steckler insanity at its most schizophrenic!

Ben T. Steckler
POB 7273
York, PA 17404

______________________________________________
  J. Kevin Carrier

LADY SPECTRA AND SPARKY VOL. 1
J. Kevin Carrier's charming superhero spoof
looks fantastic in this trade paperback 
collection!

J. Kevin Carrier
8913 Eldora Dr.
Cincinnati, OH 45236

DIRECT SALES COMICS
  A Silent Comics

ARSENIC LULLABY #10
Harvey-nominated depraved sick humor!
 
______________________________________________
  AAA Pop Comics

ATOMICS #7
Mike Allred!

______________________________________________
  Aardvark Vanaheim

CEREBUS #256
Dave Sim!

______________________________________________
    Abiogenesis

STRANGEHAVEN VOL. 2 BROTHERHOOD TP
Gary Spencer Millidge's atmospheric comedy/
drama with a macabre edge; collecting #7
thru #12!

______________________________________________
  Abisimo

PABLO'S INFERNO #4
Rhode Motijo's saga of a child's journey
through a nightmarish Aztec underworld!

______________________________________________
  Adept Books

SCHOOL GIRLS: SHELLY'S STORY #1
Leland Myrick and Mark Das Santos team for 
this series about high-school life!

SWEET COLLECTION TP
Leland Myrick's Ignatz-nominated series
collected! 

______________________________________________
  AFC Studio

BEGINNING OF THE END #2
Robert Scott and Albert Silva Jr. SF
conspiracy thriller!

______________________________________________
  AI LAI Q Productions L.L.C.

RES PUBLICA: THE NATION OF SPACE #3
Dan Kennedy & Jake Minor's space-age thriller!

______________________________________________
  Amaze Ink/Slave Labor

MISTER BLANK TP
Christopher Hicks SF series collected!

SPOOK GIRL #3
Mick Macropoulos's comedy about mechanical 
mayhem!

TAXIDERMY #1
Roman Dirge's taxidermy chill fest is in 
full color!

BABYSITTER #1
Andy Ristaino's send-up of manga and 
japanimation high-school adventures!

CHARM SCHOOL #2
Elizabeth Watasin's coven comedy!

LITTLE GLOOMY #4
Landry Walker & Eric Jones!

______________________________________________
  Arrow Comics

LAND OF OZ #11
Bishop, Bryan, and Mesner-Loebs!

______________________________________________
  Asta Graphics

SALEM ST. JAMES ILLUSIONS OF THE PAST #1
Lou Manna's new series about a magician
turned private eye!
   
______________________________________________
  Behemoth Books

BRAINBOMB SC
The national outreach program Cartoonists in 
the Classroom produced this 288 page anthology
with work by Brian Clopper, Mile Manley, Scott
Morse, Jay Hosler, Lea Hernandez, Jenni Gregory,
and others!

______________________________________________
  Black Daze

BALLAD OF UTOPIA #5
Barry Buchanan and Mike Hoffman's 
outstanding, offbeat western series
continues!

______________________________________________
  Bryce Alan Publishing

FASHION POLICE #3
Penn, Manley, & Zubiaga!

______________________________________________
  Caliber Entertainment

SHERLOCK HOLMES READER #4

WITNESS TO WAR #1
Chuck Bordell's WWII series features a female 
frontline reporter!
   
______________________________________________
  Cartoon Books

CASTLE WAITING VOL. 2 #1
Linda Medley's multiple Eisner-winning series
continues!  See featured comics above!

______________________________________________
  Claypool Comics

ELVIRA #87
AND ELVIRA MISTRESS OF THE DARK TP!
Relevant social criticism at its most trenchant!

SOULSEARCHERS #43
Peter David, Dave Cockrum, Marie Severin!

______________________________________________
  Comics Library International

COMICS LIBRARY INTERNATIONAL VOL 4
Forty Winks, Mr. Beat, Magic Inkwell, and
many others in this 152-page collection!

THE COMPLETE MR. BEAT TP
Can you beat that!  Chris Yambar's baret-
sportin' daddyo hips it up between java
gulps!

______________________________________________
  Crazyfish/MJ-12

Where the heck do they get these publisher
names?!? This returning publisher looks
promising, anyway...

CUT MY HAIR
Jamie S. Rich's punk graphic novel illo'd
by Andi Watson, Scott Morse, Renee French
and others!

SMACK DAB TP
Collection of Scott Morse short stories
from various other anthologies!

______________________________________________
  Cremo Studios C/O Shel-tone

C'mon, where DO they get these names?!?

AW SHUCKS SUSPENSE STORIES
Michael H. Price's anthology of stories
in the Southern Gothic tradition!

______________________________________________
  Dancing Elephant Press

KANE #30
Paul Grist!

______________________________________________
  Drawn & Quarterly

MADAME PAUL AFFAIR
Julie Doucet's tale about a strange apartment
house!

CLYDE FANS PART ONE TP
Collecting Seth's Palooka-ville 10-12!

LOUIS RIEL PACK
Issues 1-3 of Chester Brown's 2000 Harvey Award
nominated series!  If you missed it, now's 
your chance!

______________________________________________
  Eddie Campbell Comics

EDDIE CAMPBELL'S BACCHUS #53
Eddie Campbell!

______________________________________________
  Eric Theriault Press

106U
90-page wordless international anthology!

______________________________________________
  Fantagraphic Books

FRANK TP
Jim Woodring collection!

MEAT CAKE #10
Dame Darcy's neo-Victorian decadent comedy!

NAUGHTY BITS #32
Roberta Gregory's feminist comedy!

NIMROD #5
Lewis Trodheim relates history of universe!

PRINCE VALIENT VOL. 40
Reprinting Hal Foster's classic strip!

WEASEL #3
Dave Cooper!

ZERO ZERO #27
The title says it all (just kidding!) in this
durable anthology with Kim Deitch, Mack White,
Chris Ware, David Mazzucchelli and others!  

______________________________________________
  Funk-o-tron, LLC

BATTLE POPE #2
Sacred religious figures roll up their sleeves
for a battle to the death in this satirical 
sacriligious saga!

______________________________________________
  Gettosake Comics

SAY WHAT?! #1
Maurice Love's comedy is billed as being
'in the tradition of Fat Albert and Friday!'

______________________________________________
  Highwater Books

SLOW JAMS
If you missed it before, here's your chance
to pick up David Choe's groundbreaking graphic
novel-- highly recommended!

______________________________________________
  Horse Press

THB 6: MEK-POWER #1
Finally Paul Pope continues his popular
THB series!

______________________________________________
  Humanoids Publishing

METABARONS #7
Alexandro Jodorowsky & Juan Gimenez!

WHITE LAMA VOL. 3 THREE EARS HC
Jodorowsky & George Bess!

______________________________________________
  Insight Studios Group

LIBERTY MEADOWS #12
Frank Cho!  

______________________________________________
  Ironcat Comics

FUTABA-KUN CHANGE VOL. 5 #1
Maybe a good jumping-on point for this odd
manga series about a character who changes
gender!

______________________________________________
  Kenzer & Company

KNIGHTS OF THE DINNER TABLE #45
KNIGHTS OF THE DINNER TABLE HACKMASTERS #2
War-gamer satire!

______________________________________________
  Lightspeed Press

FINDER #18
Carla Speed McNeil's colorful SF series
continues! 

______________________________________________
  Luxurious Press

BOSWASH
Nick Bertozzi's Xeric-grant experimental comic
is printed in folded map format!

QUEEN'S DAY
Leela Corman's Xeric-grant anthology of women's
tales!

______________________________________________
  NBM

MIND'S EYE:  AN EYE OF THE BEHOLDER COLLECTION
also EYE OF THE BEHOLDER-- NEW EDITION
Peter Kuper!

CONFESSIONS OF A SERIAL EATER #2
Anthology by Savannah College of Art & Design!

______________________________________________
  Oni Press

THE BLAIR WITCH CHRONICLES #4
More unstoppable horror as a once-proud artform
spirals downward into painful mediocrity!  Will
dawn never come?

STUPID COMICS
Jim Mahfood!

SOULWIND III: THE INFAMOUS TRANSIT VAGRANTS
Scott Morse!

ONI PRESS SUMMER VACATION SUPERCOLOR FUN
SPECIAL
All the Oni characters co-exist in cross-over 
from hell!  (Alternate title:  Blair Witch 
Chronicles #5)

FORTUNE AND GLORY: A TRUE HOLLYWOOD COMIC BOOK
STORY TP
Collecting Brian Michael Bendis's Hollywood 
adventures! 

______________________________________________
  Radio Comics

FURRLOUGH #91
and HIT THE BEACH 2000 (#7)
Anthropomorphic anthologies!

______________________________________________
  Sirius Entertainment

AKIKO #40
Mark Crilley!

POE #24
Jason Asala!

______________________________________________
  Third Wind Press

ARMS LENGTH #1
Mark Price's Xeric grant-winning story about
a struggling comedian who meets Bob Hope!

______________________________________________
  Top Shelf Productions

FLIPPER VOLUME 1 & 2
Israeli art collective Actus Tragicus 
produced these high-quality flip books
that promise to be memorable works
of comic art!

______________________________________________
  Twomorrows Publishing

STREETWISE TP
What anthology puts Herb Trimpe and Art 
Spiegelman together at last?  It's this 
unusual book, which contains autobio-
graphical stories by mainstream comics
talents like Joe Kubert, Brent Anderson 
and Walt Simonson!  Includes a 10-page Jack
Kirby piece!

______________________________________________
  Viz Communications

PULP VOL 4 #8
The manga-noir anthology, now with more
pages for the same price (184 p. for $5.95!)

______________________________________________   
  Non-independent Comics Published by Huge
  Bloated Monoliths of Anti-Human Savagery

DARK HORSE MAVERICK 2000 (Dark Horse)
C. Scott Morse, Brian Ralph, and HICKSVILLE'S
Dylan Horrocks in this annual anthology!

WHAT'S MICHAEL? (Dark Horse)
Makoto Kobayashi's full-color manga all-ages 
comic about giant cats!

GON ON SAFARI (DC)
More of Masashi Tanaka's marvelous tales about
a diminutive dinosaur!